Saturday, 7 January 2012

The Caste System (6)

Hindu’s believe in Karma, they believe the position you are in or events that occur during your life is a result of the actions you have done in your past life. There is a system to group the positions called the Caste System; there are 4 ranks in the system. The Caste System is the traditional division of Hindu society, there are four main varnas or classes, the four classes are Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya and Shudra.


Brahmin: Is the highest class it consist of priests  

Kshatriya: Consists of warriors and administrators such as teachers

VaishyaConsists of producers and merchants such as farmers and shop keepers.

Shurda: The lowest class, this consists of servant and labourers.Members of the Shurda cast are often called the Untouchables.

In Western Society we have Upper, Middle and Lower class. The difference between Western and Hindu society is in Western Society we try to help members of the lower class out of their struggle while in the Caste System higher castes do not help the untouchables because they believe according to Karma these people deserve to be in the position they are in.

Indian politician and political leader Mahatma Gandhi was against the Caste System, he stated the “Untouchablitiy is a crime against God and men.” Gandhi called the Untochables by the name of Harijans meaning children of God. He fought to make the Caste System illegal, in 1949 the government of India made it a criminal offence to practice untouchability but it is still occurring in many parts of India.

What You Should Now Know: 

The Caste System is the division of Hindu society, there are four castes;  Brahmin (priests), Kshatriya (warriors and teachers), Vaishya (farmers and shop keepers) and Shudra (servants and labourers). 

Hindu's believe the position you are in this life is due to actions in a past life. 
Those actions are also known as Karma.
Dhrama also effects the Caste System because Dhrama is the rule of life and ethical duty Which is following a religion and abiding by the laws. Those who break the rules and commit crimes are demoted down a caste or rank in the Samsara for their next life. 


  1. Well written and an informative post! I have a keen interest in this topic and have written several blogs on Hindu calender and zodiac sign, as well. You can check them at mPhanchang.

  2. Hii there
    Nice blog
    Guys you can visit here to know more
    mansa mata mandir