Saturday, 7 January 2012

Hindu's God's and Goddesses (9)

There are a total of 330 million Gods and Goddesses in the Hindu religion, however 
the Hindu Trimurti consists of the three most important Gods. Then the 330 million gods and goddesses are also referred to as deities.

The Hindu Trimurti
The Hindu Trimurti is similar to the Catholic Holy Trinity, Trimurti translated means "Great Trinity", it consists of Brahma,Vishnu and Shiva. One must clearly understand that Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva are not three independent deities. They represent the same power (the Supreme Being), but in three different aspects. 

       Brahma is the creator  
                                                                                 Vishnu is the preserver

Shiva the Destroyer
Brahma is rarely worshiped now but is still thought highly of; Vishnu and Shiva on the other hand are worshiped by millionsVishnu is the supreme protector and example of moral perfection. Shiva is the God of destruction which makes way for new creation.

Avatars are an incarnation or living embodiment of a deity, generally Vishnu.

Since there are 330 million different deities, there is 
not enough time to explain them all so we are going to focus on the three know deities.

Ganesha: The Lord of Success

Ganesha is the elephant deity riding a mouse, Ganesha has become one of the most common deities that is associated with Hinduism. Ganesha is also worshiped as the god of education knowledge, wisdom and wealth. 


 Krishna is the eighth avatar of the lord Vishnu. Krishna got his name from the Sanskirt word krsna meaning dark or dark blue, that is why Krishna is usually depicted with blue skin. Krishna is the protector and finder of the cows. Krishna also
 represents joy, freedom and love.  He is usually pictured with a flue. 


Kali, Is the Dark Mother even though is she feared, Hindu's who worship Kail become her children and she assumes the role of an ever caring mother. Kali is the goddess of time and change. The word Kali means dark, she represents the realities of life and death. She also represents the frightening painful side of life which people who desire spiritual progress must over come. Kail is usually depicted with her tongue sticking out.  

What You Should Now Know:

The Hindu Trimurti means Great Trinity, it consists of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva      
Brahma is the creator  
Note That: Brahma is the creator and Brahmin is a priest                         
Vishnu is the preserver
Shiva is the destroyer 

Avatars are an incarnation or living embodiment of a deity, generally Vishnu. 


  1. Good topic, Sri Namo conveys similar thoughts of hinduisim -

  2. Hii there
    Nice blog
    Guys you can visit here to know more
    jwala devi temple photos